營養鹽來源追蹤 – 水體硝酸鹽

硝酸鹽是一種天然存在的分子,中心氮原子周圍有3個氧原子。硝酸鹽是由細菌固氮形成的,存在於土壤、廢水和地表水中。硝酸鹽也可以經由人為的商業規模生產,在醃製肉類時當做防腐劑使用,由於其高溶解性和生物降解性,還可以做為肥料中其他營養素的載體。

為什麼過量的硝酸鹽是一個問題?

在過去一個世紀裡,天然和人造硝酸鹽肥料的過度使用導致表層土壤中含有大量的硝酸鹽,然後又滲透進入地下水中。飲用水中高濃度的硝酸鹽可能有毒(10毫克/升或更高,EPA,2018年),造成高鐵血紅蛋白血症從而使血液缺氧。

此外,地表水中高濃度的硝酸鹽會導致藻類的過度生長。水體中的藻華阻擋陽光,會在水體中形成缺氧區(極低的溶解氧濃度),不利於海洋生物生存的環境。水體優氧化會對海洋和漁業產生巨大的負面影響。

Sources of Nitrates

BETA實驗室硝酸鹽測試服務

ISO 17025認證的BETA實驗室提供硝酸鹽濃度測試和穩定同位素測試,可用於研究環境中硝酸鹽的來源、跟隨環境的變化與硝酸鹽演變等課題。

來源

硝酸鹽分子含有不同的氧和氮同位素,最常見的是氧-16和氮-14,罕見的是氧-18和氮-15。因為硝酸鹽可以由天然形成或人工生產,所以形成分子質量不同的硝酸鹽。

這種差異以δ(delta)值表示,並與國際公認的標準進行比較。
例如: 

變化

自然界中的硝酸鹽分子可能會發生變化,例如透過反硝化作用,即細菌利用 NO3 的過程。在反硝化過程中,微生物優先利用含氮-14和含氧-16的硝酸鹽分子,留下富含氧-18和氮-15同位素的剩餘硝酸鹽。而硝化作用則正好相反。

影響因素

來源、氧的利用率、酸鹼度和土地利用率都與硝酸鹽的同位素值有關,在分析同位素資料時這些因素都應考慮在內。硝酸鹽穩定同位素測試是瞭解硝酸鹽來源和其所經歷變化過程的有用工具。

Beta實驗室使用同位素比質譜儀(IRMS)進行快速、ISO 17025認證的氧與氮同位素測量。14個工作天內完成測試並出具報告.


參考文獻:

Aravena, R., Evans, M. L., & Cherry, J. A. (1993). Stable isotopes of oxygen and nitrogen in source identification of nitrate from septic systems. Groundwater, 31(2), 180-186.

Florida Department of Health Fact Sheet – Chemicals in Private Drinking Water Wells

Hosono, T., Tokunaga, T., Kagabu, M., Nakata, H., Orishikida, T., Lin, I. T., & Shimada, J. (2013). The use of δ15N and δ18O tracers with an understanding of groundwater flow dynamics for evaluating the origins and attenuation mechanisms of nitrate pollution. Water research, 47(8), 2661-2675.

Isotope Tracers in Catchment Hydrology (1998), C. Kendall and J. J. McDonnell (Eds.). Elsevier Science B.V., Amsterdam. pp. 519-576.

Li, S. L., Liu, C. Q., Li, J., Xue, Z., Guan, J., Lang, Y., … & Li, L. (2013). Evaluation of nitrate source in surface water of southwestern China based on stable isotopes. Environmental earth sciences, 68(1), 219-228.

US EPA Fact Sheet – Preventing Eutrophication: Scientific Support for Dual Nutrient Criteria

US EPA National Primary Drinking Water Regulations

305-662-7760 (USA)

8 AM-5 PM EST (Mon-Fri)

Nutrient Source Tracking – Nitrate in Water

Nitrate is a naturally occurring molecule which contains 3 oxygen atoms surrounding a central nitrogen atom. Nitrate is formed naturally by bacterial nitrogen fixation and is therefore found in soils, effluents and surface waters. Nitrate is also produced artificially on a commercial scale, used as a preservative in cured meats and, due to its high solubility and biodegradability, as a carrier for other nutrients in fertilizers.

Why is an excess of nitrate a concern?

The overuse of nitrate-based fertilizers, natural and artificial, in this past century has resulted in an abundant amount of nitrate in top soils, which is then transported into the water table via infiltration. High concentrations of nitrate in drinking water can be toxic (10mg/L or higher EPA, 2018), starving blood of oxygen via methemoglobinemia.

Furthermore, high levels of nitrate in surface waters will cause an overstimulation of algal growth. These algal blooms block sunlight and create anoxic zones (very low concentrations of dissolved oxygen) which create an uninhabitable environment for marine life. Eutrophication can have large negative impacts on marine and fishery industries.

Sources of Nitrates

Beta Analytic’s Nitrate Testing Services

ISO 17025-accredited Beta Analytic provides nitrate concentration and isotopic measurements, which can be used to decipher the source(s), environmental alterations and fate of nitrate in the environment.

Source

A nitrate molecule naturally contains different isotopes of oxygen and nitrogen, the most common being oxygen-16 and nitrogen-14 and the rare being oxygen-18 and nitrogen-15. As nitrate is formed and utilized naturally or artificially, the mass of the nitrate molecule varies.

These differences are expressed as delta values and are compared to internationally accepted standards.
For example: 

Alterations

A nitrate molecule in nature will likely be altered, for example by denitrification, a process by which bacteria utilizes NO3 . During denitrification, microbes preferentially target the nitrogen-14 and oxygen-16 bearing nitrate molecules, leaving the residual nitrate enriched with the oxygen-18 and nitrogen-15 isotopes. Nitrification has the opposite effect.

Impact

Source, oxygen availability, pH and land use all play a part in the isotopic values of nitrate and should be considered when analyzing isotopic data. The isotopes of nitrate are a useful tool in understanding where nitrate is originating from and what processes the molecule had undergone before reaching your sample vial.

Beta Analytic performs fast, ISO 17025-accredited oxygen and nitrogen isotope measurements using an isotope ratio mass spectrometer (IRMS). Results are reported in 14 business days.


References:

Aravena, R., Evans, M. L., & Cherry, J. A. (1993). Stable isotopes of oxygen and nitrogen in source identification of nitrate from septic systems. Groundwater, 31(2), 180-186.

Florida Department of Health Fact Sheet – Chemicals in Private Drinking Water Wells

Hosono, T., Tokunaga, T., Kagabu, M., Nakata, H., Orishikida, T., Lin, I. T., & Shimada, J. (2013). The use of δ15N and δ18O tracers with an understanding of groundwater flow dynamics for evaluating the origins and attenuation mechanisms of nitrate pollution. Water research, 47(8), 2661-2675.

Isotope Tracers in Catchment Hydrology (1998), C. Kendall and J. J. McDonnell (Eds.). Elsevier Science B.V., Amsterdam. pp. 519-576.

Li, S. L., Liu, C. Q., Li, J., Xue, Z., Guan, J., Lang, Y., … & Li, L. (2013). Evaluation of nitrate source in surface water of southwestern China based on stable isotopes. Environmental earth sciences, 68(1), 219-228.

US EPA Fact Sheet – Preventing Eutrophication: Scientific Support for Dual Nutrient Criteria

US EPA National Primary Drinking Water Regulations