天然化妝品原料是否含有石化衍生成分?

隨著含有可再生來源成分的產品需求日益增長,很多化妝品都使用“天然”或“零石化合成成分”的標籤來新增自身產品的市場競爭力。由於採購來自全球各地的原料成分其複雜性和可供選擇的範圍很大,所以能够經由測試證明自己天然化妝品產品成分原料中不含石化衍生物,對於製造商和經銷商來說是非常有利的。

化妝品中的潤膚劑、乳化劑、保濕劑、防腐劑和界面活性劑等成分的合成成分通常來源於石化衍生物。同類的天然來源成分相對而言往往更昂貴,尤其是精油。天然精油的需求和來源作物的產量與品質波動使得其價格遠遠高於其他同類合成產品。

確保採購的天然原料成分沒有摻雜更廉價的石油衍生成分,製造商的品質控制措施應該包括使用碳-14進行的天然產品來源測試。

驗證非石化衍生原料

利用放射性碳原理的標準測試方法,比如ISO 16620-2可以用來驗證化妝品原料中不含石化成分。ISO 16620-2測試結果表示的是受測產品中天然來源碳(生質碳)相對合成來源碳(石化衍生碳)占總碳的百分比。

天然來源的原料含有一個已知的放射性碳(碳-14)含量。然而,同時含有石化來源成分和可再生來源成分的混合物質則含有相對較低的放射性碳含量。100%源於石化衍生物的物質則不含放射性碳。正因為這些區別,測量樣品中的放射性碳含量是一個可以證明產品中不含石化衍生成分的可靠工具。

例如,A原料完全來源於可再生成分(例如植物萃取物),根據ISO 16620-2它將會是100%生質含量。B原料中60%源於植物萃取物和40%源於石化衍生成分,則它將是明顯低於100%的生質含量。對於純天然的化妝品原料而言,則必須含有100%的生質含量。

BETA實驗室快速的化妝品測試

ISO/IEC 17025:2005認證的BETA實驗室測試碳同位素比值並且根據ISO 16620-2 8.3.2:生質碳含量占總碳含量的百分比這個標準出具天然產品來源測試結果報告。實驗室總部位於邁阿密,可在2-5個工作日提供測試結果,並支援24小時上網下載結果報告,包含品質保證報告和測試樣品照片。

化妝品 天然產品的真實性檢驗

305-662-7760 (USA)

8 AM-5 PM EST (Mon-Fri)

Are Natural Cosmetics Ingredients Free from Petrochemicals?

Many cosmetics carry the labels “natural” or “petrochemical-free” to stand out from competition as the demand for products containing renewably sourced ingredients continues to grow. Due to the complexity of sourcing various ingredients from around the world and the large range of choices available, it is in the interest of manufacturers and distributors to have analytical proof that the ingredients used to make natural cosmetics do not contain petrochemical-derived substances.

Synthetic ingredients used as emollients, emulsifiers, humectants, preservatives and surfactants in cosmetic products are usually sourced from petroleum derivatives. Their natural counterparts are oftentimes more expensive. This is especially true for essential oils. The demand for natural essential oils and fluctuating crop availability or quality make their prices significantly higher than the synthetic variety.

To make sure that the natural ingredient procured is not fake or adulterated with cheaper petrochemical compounds, a manufacturer’s quality control measures should include natural product source testing using Carbon-14.

Verifying Petrochemical-Free Ingredients

Radiocarbon-based standardized analytical methods such as ISO 16620-2 can be used to verify that a cosmetic ingredient is devoid of petrochemicals. Results of ISO 16620-2 testing show the percentage of the total carbon in a product that comes from natural sources (biobased carbon) versus the synthetic (petroleum-derived carbon).

Materials sourced from nature have a known radiocarbon (Carbon-14) level. Blended substances with both petroleum-derived and renewably sourced components, however, will have a significantly lower radiocarbon level. Chemicals that are 100% sourced from petroleum derivatives have no radiocarbon left. Because of these distinctions, measuring the radiocarbon content of a material can be a reliable tool in proving that it is indeed free from petrochemicals.

For example, Ingredient A wholly made from renewable sources (e.g. plant extracts) will be 100% biobased according to ISO 16620-2. Ingredient B, composed of 60% plant-based extract and 40% petroleum-based, will have a biobased percentage significantly less than 100%. For a cosmetic ingredient to be petrochemical-free, it must be 100% biobased.

Beta Analytic’s Fast Cosmetics Testing

ISO/IEC 17025:2005-accredited Beta Analytic measures isotopic ratios and reports results for natural products source testing according to ISO 16620-2 8.3.2: biobased carbon content as a fraction of total carbon. The Miami-based lab provides results in 2-5 business days. Results can be accessed online 24/7 including QA reports and sample photos.

Cosmetics Natural Products Source Testing