薑黃素碳14測試

Carbon-14 analysis curcumin turmeric

薑黃素粉由植物薑黃中萃取製作,包含了薑黃素在內的多種薑黃色素。它的顏色是很特別的黃色,可用做香料,色素以及化妝品原料和補充品。近年來,與其他很多天然產品一樣,薑黃素開始出現了石油合成品摻假現象,因此鑑定薑黃素粉是否摻假對生產商和供應商變得十分重要。

摻假薑黃素

天然薑黃素是從天然薑黃中萃取的,然而該製作方法所花費的成本會比使用石油合成薑黃素高得多。許多薑黃素的合成製造方法是Pabon法的衍生,使用的原材料為乙酰丙酮和香蘭素,乙酰丙酮是石油化學品的工業合成物,而天然香蘭素稀少且昂貴,因此透過石油化學品合成製作則大大降低了成本。

使用合成薑黃素目前將受到監管。美國食品及藥物管理局(FDA)在2016年8月的新飲食成分指導草案中強調天然藥草與植物的同款合成物不能同等對待,因此無法在聯邦食品,藥物和化妝品法案201(FF)(1)(C)中列為飲食成分。

薑黃素市場預計在2023年將達到1億美金,考慮到監管帶來的影響和經濟刺激,對合成薑黃素的測試辨別對於生產廠家和供應商變得十分重要。

碳14測試檢測摻假產品

經證明碳14測試可準確測試天然薑黃素中是否摻雜石油化學品合成物。美國植物理事會( American Botanical Council )提出:

以合成的薑黃素代替天然薑黃素是一種刻意的做法,而且可以避開大多數光譜和分析測試。 碳同位素測量,需要精密加速器質譜儀來測量樣品中的14C,是確定薑黃素為植物來源還是合成來源的最有效方法。[The replacement of natural curcumin with synthetic curcumin is a deliberate practice that eludes most spectroscopic and analytical tests. Carbon isotope measurement, requiring a sophisticated accelerator mass spectrometer to measure 14C in the sample, is the most effective method to determine if a curcumin material is plant-derived or of synthetic origin.]

碳14是具有弱放射性的不穩定碳同位素,從大氣外層透過空氣對流不斷進入地球生物圈從而進入碳循環。由於現存活或近期存活的生物都是碳循環的一部分,因此它們本身都含有已知量的碳14。該放射性元素會隨著時間而衰減,石油以及它的衍生物由於十分古老,所以不含任何碳14。

BETA實驗室 – 天然產品測試實驗室

BETA實驗室獲得ISO 17025認證,使用碳14測試提供快速精準的天然產品來源測試,並依照兩種標準- ASTM D6866ISO 16620-2,提供相對於總碳(TC)或總有機碳(TOC)的生質碳含量報告。 測試週期為5-7個工作日,優先服務僅需4個工作天或更少即可交付報告。全天24小時可線上查詢測試結果,包含品質保證報告及樣品照片。如您有任何問題,歡迎您聯絡BETA實驗室info@radiocarbon.tw 或者撥打 台北代理處聯繫電話.

參考資料:

American Botanical Council (ABC), the American Herbal Pharmacopoeia (AHP), and the University of Mississippi’s National Center for Natural Products Research (NCNPR) Botanical Adulterants Prevention Program. Botanical Adulterants Bulletin: Turmeric (Curcuma longa) Root and Rhizome, and Root and Rhizome Extracts. May 2018 (accessed June 2018)

Business Wire. Global Curcumin Market – Forecast to 2023 – Increased Research Focus to Enhance Curcumin Bioavailability Drives Market Growth – Research and Markets. June 2017 (accessed August 2017).

Pabon HJ. A synthesis of curcumin and related compounds. Recueil des Travaux Chimiques des Pays-Bas. 1964;83:379–86.

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Food and Drug Administration Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition. Dietary Supplements: New Dietary Ingredient Notifications and Related Issues: Guidance for Industry. August 2016 (accessed July 2017).

更新日期: 2018年6月

The lab is still dealing with the aftermath of Hurricane Irma. Due to power outages in Miami, delivery of results will unfortunately be delayed.

Carbon-14 Analysis of Curcumin

Carbon-14 analysis curcumin turmeric

Turmeric powder, made from the plant Curcuma longa, consists of several different curcuminoids including curcumin. It has a distinctive yellow color and has various uses including flavoring, coloring, ingredients in cosmetics and as a supplement. As with many other natural ingredients, curcumin is subject to adulteration with the petroleum-derived synthetics and authentication is becoming crucial for manufacturers and suppliers.

Curcumin Adulteration

Naturally sourced curcumin is extracted from turmeric. However, this process is more costly than producing synthetic curcumin from petroleum-derived compounds. Currently many synthetic production routes to curcumin are variations of Pabon’s method which originally used acetyl acetone and vanillin. Acetyl acetone is industrially produced from petrochemicals. Natural vanillin is scarce and expensive to produce but can also be manufactured synthetically with petrochemicals at a much lower cost.

The use of synthetic curcumin in formulations has potential regulatory repercussions. The drafted guidelines in August 2016 by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) on new dietary ingredients highlight that synthetic identicals of herbs or botanicals are not the same and therefore do not qualify as a dietary ingredient under 201(ff)(1)(C) of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act.

Given the regulatory implications and the economic incentive for adulteration, with the curcumin market predicted to reach $100 million by 2023, being able to reliably detect the presence of any synthetic curcumin is important for manufacturers and suppliers. Natural source authentication additionally provides a useful marketing tool to gain the trust of consumers.

Detecting Adulteration with Carbon-14 Analysis

Carbon-14 analysis has proven to be an accurate tool to detect adulteration of natural curcumin with the petrochemical-derived synthetic version.

Carbon-14, an unstable and weakly radioactive isotope of carbon, enters the carbon cycle from its continual formation in the upper atmosphere. As a result, since living or recently living things are part of the carbon cycle, they will have a known amount of Carbon-14. This radioisotope decays over time, and petroleum and its derivatives are too old such that they will not contain any Carbon-14. Therefore measuring Carbon-14 content gives a clear indication of the natural (biobased) content of a material like curcumin.

Beta Analytic – A Natural Products Testing Laboratory

ISO 17025-accredited Beta Analytic provides high-quality and fast natural product source testing using Carbon-14 analysis according to ISO 16620-2, which reports biobased carbon content as a fraction of total carbon. Results are reported in 2-5 business days and can be accessed online 24/7 including QA reports and sample photos. For inquiries, contact Beta Analytic at info@betalabservices.com or call a local forwarding office.

References:

Business Wire. Global Curcumin Market – Forecast to 2023 – Increased Research Focus to Enhance Curcumin Bioavailability Drives Market Growth – Research and Markets. June 2017 (accessed August 2017).

Pabon HJ. A synthesis of curcumin and related compounds. Recueil des Travaux Chimiques des Pays-Bas. 1964;83:379–86.

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Food and Drug Administration Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition. Dietary Supplements: New Dietary Ingredient Notifications and Related Issues: Guidance for Industry. August 2016 (accessed July 2017).