生質產品認證

目前風行全球的許多第三方認證生態標章計劃以及生質產品,規定或建議使用 ASTM D6866ISO 16620-2CEN 16440進行產品測試。

注意:BETA實驗室不隸屬於下列任一組織。

 

Vinçotte為一檢驗、測試和認證機構。它的OK Biobased環保標章系統使用星星來表示產品的生質含量:標章裡的星星數量越多,表示產品的生質碳含量越高。使用ASTM D6866來測試產品,產品必須含至少30%的有機碳和至少20%的生質碳才能獲得OK Biobased標章。

OK Biobased背景: Vinçotte OK Biobased生質認證規定須透過碳14 分析取得OK Biobased生質標章概述
OK Biobased網站: www.okbiobased.be

Braskem是巴西的一家石化公司,其自創綠色標章來認證產品,產品中須包含Braskem 公司的綠色塑膠成分。此標章僅開放巴西境內企業申請。

Braskem I’m Green 概述: http://www.braskem.com/site.aspx/Im-greenTM-Polyethylene

加拿大政府在1988年啟用環保標章計劃,現已發展為北美最大的環保標章系統。環保標章認證的商業產品極為廣泛。

適用ASTM D6866測試的產品:洗手液ccd – 170環保標章規定進行生質含量測試。根據此一規定,洗手消毒液產品的生質含量須達73%(包裝除外),或符合美國農業部生物優先計劃規定。

ccd – 170背景: 洗手液環保標章須透過生質測試取得
更新:ccd – 170現行名稱為UL 2783洗手液
相關話題: UL環境的生質含量驗證

2016年3月,法國生態部永續發展和能源署頒佈法令2016-379,其為能源轉型和綠色增長新法的其中一部份,目標是為了減少使用一次性塑膠袋。法令2016-379於2016年7月生效,其禁止使用厚度小於50微米的一次性塑膠袋。從2017年1月開始,唯一可用的塑膠袋為生質含量達30%的塑膠袋。法令明確規定,塑膠袋的最低生質含量將在2018年提升至40%、2020年50%,預計2025年將提升至60%。生質含量須經碳14檢測、認定。

塑膠袋廠商需根據ISO16620-2或ISO / TS 16640標準測試、認證自家產品的生質含量。該法令還規定,生質含量是指「以百分比為顯示單位,塑膠袋中的生質含量佔總碳量的比率,計算方式同國際標準中,測試塑膠製品的生質碳含量公式」。

Décret n° 2016-379: https://www.legifrance.gouv.fr/eli/decret/2016/3/30/2016-379/jo/texte

DIN CERTCO是萊茵集團旗下的認證組織,DIN是德國標準化研究所。根據生質碳含量,其DIN-Gepruft生質認證有三個質量等級:(a)生質 20 – 50%、(b)生質50 – 85%、(c)生質 > 85%。

適用ASTM D6866測試的產品:除醫療、有害產品和含化石成分的燃料外,認證產品需含至少50%的有機物和至少20% 的生質。生質認證適用全部或部分由生質製成的產品。

DIN-Gepruft生質認證背景: 為了增加永續性的DIN-Gepruft生質認證

DIN CERTCO網站:www.dincertco.de

自2011年起全國禁止使用除了保鮮袋以外的購物塑膠袋,歐盟法律2015/720已在意大利通過,並將於2018年1月1日起實施。 一旦指令通過則意味義大利境內所有的一次性塑膠袋,都必須是可分解且生質碳含量將逐步增加。最低生質含量始於2018年的40%,到2020年將增為50%,而2021年則會提升至60%。

塑膠袋廠商須依據UNI CEN ISO/TS 16640標準(生質碳含量佔總碳含量的百分比)來測試、認證自家產品的生質含量。(現在更名為EN 16640:2017)。 該法規還提供宣傳活動資訊,旨在提高消費者對塑膠袋的生態足跡意識,並且就「塑膠材料是一種無害、廉價原料的錯誤意識進行​​辯駁,其有助於減少使用塑膠袋」。

更多關於該法規(Article 9-bis of Decree 91/2017)的詳細資訊請參考: http://documenti.camera.it/leg17/dossier/Testi/D17091b.htm

日本生物塑膠協會於2006年7月成立,它的BiomassPla認證和標章系統認證以生質為基礎的塑膠製品。根據此項目,註冊產品可擁有易被消費者識別的標誌。 BiomassPla標章計劃只適用日本生物塑膠協會(JBPA)成員。

適用ASTM D6866測試的產品:塑膠製品須含生質成分且可透過ASTM D6866進行測試。

BiomassPla背景: 日本生物塑膠協會針對生質塑膠的BiomassPla認證
JBPA網站: http://www.jbpaweb.net/english/english.htm

臺灣環保署的「Green Mark」為一環保標章標準,主要是針對「生質塑膠製品」:源自生質的塑膠產品。可生物降解產品不適用於此標章。

此標章計劃適用於經ASTM D6866標準測試、生質含量達25%的塑膠產品,此一標準可用來測試、確認塑膠製品中,源於生質與石化衍生物的含量百分比。

詳細內容及申請方式,請參考「Green Mark」網站。

美國政府必須採購列在美國生物優先計劃目錄中、含最高生質含量的產品。美國農業部還有一個自由標籤計劃,旨在幫助消費者購買生質產品時,充分了解他們的選擇。自由標籤申請公司需要提交ASTM D6866認證。聯邦採購項目中的產品不會自動計入自由標籤計劃。聯邦採購程序裡的合格產品仍需通過ASTM D6866再次測試生質含量,這也是自由標籤計劃申請過程的一部分。

適用ASTM D6866測試的產品: 聯邦採購程序受理USDA規定的各類產品。只要符合所需的最低生質含量,大多數的生質產品皆適用自由標籤項目

美國農業部生物優先計劃網站: www.biopreferred.gov

美國環保署制定安全選擇標章(Safer Choice Label)來幫助消費者和買家辯識更安全的化學成分產品。標章以前被稱為環境標章。要獲得這個標誌,產品必須符合安全選擇標準所定、嚴格的人類健康和環境標準。EPA會進行年度審核,確保產品年年符合標準。截至2015年1月,約有2250個產品通過審核並獲得安全選擇標章。

適用產品:適用範圍廣泛,包括但不限於此:玻璃清潔劑、通用清潔劑、衛生間清潔劑、地毯清潔劑、洗滌劑、塗鴉去除劑、船和汽車護理劑、下水道清潔劑、個人護理、地板護理及其他工業產品。安全選擇標章只適用於成品。

自行決定是否參與安全選擇標章。除了成分,評定程序還評估產品的性能、PH值和包裝。安全選擇標章包裝標準(9 / 2014)規定,永續包裝聯盟發展(SPC)的六個永續性標準中,只須達到其中之一的25%。在永續包裝的指標和度量框架中,ASTM D6866被認定為測量可再生生物塑膠的指標。

安全選擇標章網站:https://www.epa.gov/saferchoice/learn-about-safer-choice-label

T根據其永續屬性驗證和評估(SAVE)計劃,國際評估服務公司公告了取得屬性報告(VAR) ICC-ES驗證所需的規定概要。VAR主要用來驗證生產者的環境聲明和產品屬性。生質材料含量的測定評估指南於2008年10月1日開始生效。

適用ASTM D6866測試的產品:建築材料
ICC-ES SAVE的背景: 屬性驗證指南
EG102:生質材料含量測定評估指南

EPEAT計劃旨在幫助購買者依據其環境屬性評估和選擇電子產品。符合基本標準後,再依照28個自選標準的比例,註冊產品將被評為金、銀或銅。

根據EPEAT符合性評估協議4.2材料選擇版本1.3(2010年3月生效),其為針對桌上電腦和筆記本電腦、精簡客戶端、工作站和電腦螢幕的可再生/生質塑膠材料含量的聲明,上述生質含量驗證須經ASTM D6866分析。

適用ASTM D6866測試的產品:用於電腦與螢幕的塑膠製品

EPEAT 符合性評估協議4.2材料選擇

EPEAT網站: http://www.epeat.net/

永續生物材料協作發布了一系列稱為BioSpecs的採購規範。如果食品容器製造商符合特定條件,就可以得到銅、銀和黃金等級,其中一個條件就是有機碳含量。

適用ASTM D6866測試的產品:食品容器製品的生質含量須達95%,才可獲得青銅等級。

BioSpecs的背景: 永續生物材料協作的BioSpecs透過ASTM D6866測量有機碳含量
永續生物材料協作網站: www.sustainablebiomaterials.org

永續包裝聯盟的永續包裝指標和指標框架版本1.0包括可再生材料使用規範,其為總材料使用規範的補充資料。

適用ASTM D6866測試的產品:生物塑膠(請參見第20頁:框架)。

永續包裝指標背景: 永續包裝指標框架含適用生物塑膠的ASTM D6866測試
SPC網站: http://www.sustainablepackaging.org

能源環境設計指導(LEED)是應用最廣泛的第三方綠色建築認證,可適用於所有建築。建築項目可以申請LEED認證,並獲得LEED認證,認證等級有四:通過、白銀、黃金或白金。

符合永續農業互聯網中,永續農業標準的建築材料,可透過ASTM D6866驗證生質含量,其有助於取得或提升LEED認證等級。無最低生質含量要求。

適用ASTM D6866測試的產品:建築材料

LEED v4 背景資料: http://www.usgbc.org/resources/leed-v4-user-guide
生質材料含量的測定評價指標:http://www.usgbc.org/guide/bdc

 

最近更新日期:2017年8月

Biobased Product Certification

There are several third-party certified eco-labeling programs and biobased product initiatives worldwide that require or recommend ASTM D6866, ISO 16620-2 or CEN 16440 testing for products.

NOTE: Beta Analytic is not affiliated with any of the programs listed below.

 

Vinçotte in Belgium is an inspection, testing, and certification body. Its OK Biobased eco-label system uses a star system to indicate a product’s biobased content – the more stars in the logo, the higher is a product’s biobased content.

Products for ASTM D6866 Testing: Products must have at least 30% organic carbon and be at least 20% biobased to obtain the OK Biobased logo.

OK Biobased Background: Vinçotte Requires Carbon 14 Analysis for OK Biobased Certification, OK Biobased Summary
OK Biobased Web site: www.okbiobased.be

Braskem, a petrochemical company in Brazil, has created the I’m Green seal to identify products that contain the Braskem green plastic in their composition. The seal is exclusive to Braskem clients.

Braskem I’m Green overview: http://www.braskem.com/site.aspx/Im-greenTM-Polyethylene

Founded by the Canadian government in 1988, the EcoLogo Program has evolved into one of North America’s largest ecolabeling systems. EcoLogo certifies a broad range of commercial products.

Products for ASTM D6866 Testing: EcoLogo’s standard for hand sanitizers CCD-170 requires biobased content measurement. Under the standard, instant hand antiseptic products must be at least 73% biobased excluding the packaging or demonstrate compliance with the USDA Biopreferred Program.

CCD-170 Background: Hand Sanitizers Need Biobased Testing to Get an EcoLogo
Update: CCD-170 is now called UL 2783 Instant Hand Antiseptics
Related Topic: UL Environment’s Biobased Content Validation

The French Ministry of Ecology, Sustainable Development and Energy published Decree 2016-379 in March 2016 as part of the new French law on Energy Transition and Green Growth aiming to reduce the use of disposable plastic bags. This decree entered into force in July 2016 and banned single-use plastic carrier bags thinner than 50 microns. From January 2017, the only authorized bags are those with a biobased content of at least 30%. This minimum biobased content will increase to 40% in 2018, 50% in 2020, and 60% in 2025 as specified in the Decree. Carbon-14 testing is the analytical method required to determine the biobased content.

Bioplastic bag manufacturers are required to have the biobased content of their products certified according to the ISO 16620-2 or CEN/TS 16640 standards. The Decree also states that the biobased content is “the percentage, expressed as a fraction of total carbon, of biobased materials contained in the bags, using the calculation method specified in the international standard in force for determining the biobased carbon content of plastics”.

Décret n° 2016-379: https://www.legifrance.gouv.fr/eli/decret/2016/3/30/2016-379/jo/texte

DIN CERTCO is a certification organization of TÜV Rheinland Group and DIN, the German Institute for Standardization. Its DIN-Geprüft Biobased certification scheme has three quality divisions based on the biobased carbon content: (a) Biobased 20-50%, (b) Biobased 50-85%, and (c) Biobased >85%.

Products for ASTM D6866 Testing: All products that are at least 50% organic and at least 20% biobased can be certified, except medical and hazardous products and fuels with fossil components. The certification scheme applies to products which are wholly or partly produced from biobased raw materials.

DIN-Geprüft Biobased Background: DIN-Geprüft Biobased – for more Sustainability

DIN CERTCO Web site: www.dincertco.de

After a nationwide ban on plastic shopping bags in 2011, which excluded produce bags, EU law 2017 is currently under discussion in Italy and will put EU Directive 2015/720 into effect in the country starting January 1, 2018. Aimed at reducing the consumption of plastic carrier bags, the adoption of the directive means that all disposable produce bags distributed in Italy will have to be compostable and contain a biobased carbon percentage that will progressively increase. The minimum biobased content starting from 40% in 2018 will be raised to 50% in 2020 and will reach 60% in 2021.

Bioplastic bag manufacturers are required to have the biobased percentage of their products certified according to UNI CEN/TS 16640: % biobased carbon as a fraction of total carbon. The draft bill also provides for information campaigns aimed at raising consumer awareness of the environmental footprint of plastic bags and “dispute the misperception that plastic is a harmless and cheap material, helping to reduce the usage of plastic bags”.

More information is found here: http://www.senato.it/japp/bgt/showdoc/17/DOSSIER/970633/index.html

Launched in July 2006, Japan BioPlastics Association’s BiomassPla certification and labeling system certifies biomass-based plastic products. Under this program, registered products carry a logo easily identifiable by consumers. The BiomassPla labeling program only applies to members of the JBPA.

Products for ASTM D6866 Testing: Plastic products must contain biomass-derived components that can be measured using ASTM D6866

BiomassPla Background: Japan BioPlastics Association’s BiomassPla Certification for Biomass-based Plastics
JBPA Web site: http://www.jbpaweb.net/english/english.htm

The Taiwanese Environmental Protection Department’s “Green Mark” is the environmental labeling standard for “biobased plastic products” – plastic products that are derived from biomass. Biodegradable products are exempt from the scheme.

The labeling program applies to plastic products with at least 25% biobased carbon content measured by ASTM D6866, the standard used for determining the percentage of the carbon in a plastic product that is derived from biomass versus fossil-based content.

More details on how to apply for this label can be found on the “Green Mark” website.

U.S. government agencies are obliged to procure products with the highest biobased content as listed in the USDA’s BioPreferred Catalog. This USDA program also has a voluntary labeling scheme that aims to keep consumers well informed of their choices when it comes to buying biobased products. Applicants to the latter are required to submit ASTM D6866 certification. Products already part of the federal procurement program are not automatically included in the voluntary labeling program. Qualified products under the federal procurement program still need to be re-tested for biobased content via ASTM D6866 as part of the voluntary labeling program application process.

Products for ASTM D6866 Testing: The Federal Procurement Program accepts products that belong to USDA-established designated categories. The Voluntary Labeling Program is applicable to most biobased products as long as they comply with the required minimum biobased content level.

BioPreferred Web site: www.biopreferred.gov

The U.S. EPA developed the Safer Choice Label to help consumers and commercial buyers identify chemical-based products with safer ingredients. The label was previously known as Design for the Environment label. To earn the label, products must meet the stringent human health and environmental criteria of the Safer Choice Standard. The EPA conducts annual audits to ensure that the products continue to meet the Standard. As of January 2015, about 2,250 products qualify to carry the Safer Choice Label.

Applicable Products: A wide range of products, including but not limited to, glass cleaners, general purpose cleaners, washroom cleaners, carpet cleaners, laundry detergents, graffiti removers, boat and car care, drain cleaners, personal care, and floor care and other industrial products. The Safer Choice recognition applies only to the finished product.

Participation in the Safer Choice program is voluntary. Aside from the ingredients, the program also evaluates product performance, pH and packaging. The Safer Choice Packaging Criteria (9/2014) only require 25% to be met in one of the six sustainability criteria developed by the Sustainable Packaging Coalition (SPC). In the Sustainable Packaging Indicators and Metrics Framework, ASTM D6866 is identified as a guide for measuring renewability of bioplastics.

Safer Choice Label website: https://www.epa.gov/saferchoice/learn-about-safer-choice-label

The ICC Evaluation Service issued a guideline outlining the requirements for obtaining an ICC-ES Verification of Attributes Report (VAR) under its Sustainable Attributes Verification and Evaluation (SAVE) program. The VAR verifies manufacturer environmental claims and product attributes. The Evaluation Guideline for Determination of Biobased Material Content (EG102) was effective October 1, 2008.

Products for ASTM D6866 Testing: Building materials

ICC-ES SAVE Background: Guidelines for Verification of Attributes
EG102: Evaluation Guideline for Determination of Biobased Material Content

The EPEAT Program aims to aid purchasers assess and select electronic products based on their environmental attributes. Registered products are rated Gold, Silver or Bronze depending on the percentage of 28 optional criteria they meet on top of the baseline criteria.

According to EPEAT Conformity Assessment Protocols 4.2 Materials Selection Version 1.3 (March 2010) concerning declaration of renewable/biobased plastic materials content of desktop and laptop computers, thin clients, workstations and computer monitors, verification of the biobased content is determined through ASTM D6866.

Products for ASTM D6866 Testing: Plastic materials used in computers and monitors

EPEAT Conformity Assessment Protocols 4.2 Materials Selection

EPEAT Web site: http://www.epeat.net/

Sustainable Biomaterials Collaborative has released a list of purchasing specifications called BioSpecs. Manufacturers of food service ware can get Bronze, Silver, and Gold ratings if they meet certain criteria, one of which is organic carbon content.

Products for ASTM D6866 Testing: Food service ware must be at least 95% biobased to get a Bronze rating.

BioSpecs Background: SBC’s BioSpecs Uses ASTM D6866 for Organic Carbon Content Measurement
SBC Web site: www.sustainablebiomaterials.org

The Sustainable Packaging Coalition’s Sustainable Packaging Indicators and Metrics Framework Version 1.0 includes Renewable Material Use as a supplemental indicator with Total Material Use as the core indicator.

Products for ASTM D6866 Testing: Bioplastics (see page 20 of the Framework).

Sustainable Packaging Indicators Background: Sustainable Packaging Metrics Framework Include ASTM D6866 for Bioplastics
SPC Web site: http://www.sustainablepackaging.org

Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) is the most widely used third-party verification for green buildings. LEED may be applied to all buildings. Projects pursuing LEED certification earn one of four LEED rating levels – Certified, Silver, Gold or Platinum.

ASTM D6866 is used to verify the the biobased content in building materials that meet the Sustainable Agriculture Network’s Sustainable Agriculture Standard, contributing to the LEED rating level. There is no minimum biobased content requirement.

Products for ASTM D6866 Testing: Building materials

LEED v4 Background: http://www.usgbc.org/resources/leed-v4-user-guide
Evaluation Guideline for Determination of Biobased Material Content: http://www.usgbc.org/guide/bdc

 

Last Updated March 2017